How my Testing skills saved Life!

SOFTWARE Testing

Dear All,

Today in this post of mine, I am going to share a real-life experience –

How my testing skills saved lives!

My dad is a doctor by profession and sometime back he ordered an Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor (Test Device) from an international brand for home use and for his patients.

The day we received the Kit, I tried (Smoke testing / Adhoc testing) it over me, my Mom and my Dad and then driven by my Tester instinct, decided to Test (System Testing) the device accuracy by cross verifying the BP readings using Handheld old-style BP machine.

My testing goal was – To find if there is any deviation of reading between old-style Analog(being the benchmark – as it is used by IMA doctors for more than over 20 years) and newly ordered Digital blood pressure monitor.

I could see a deviation of 4-5% in both the reading; sometimes systolic or diastolic and sometimes both.

I performed my Test execution for over 7 days- 3 readings for 3 different people of different age group (my mom, dad and my maid), four times a day.

My Test steps included – Taking reading(s) First using Digital BP machine (new one) and then using Analog BP machine(old style), and then vice versa. Post that taking an average of both the readings.

Finally on 8th day, based on my Test data and Test reports, I could establish a deviation of 5.73% in both the readings.

I then gave in a call to Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor customer care and reported my test results with findings.

They agreed to the fact – that few of the BP kits might be having an issue with exact readings due to the embedded system variations, hence they were in process of recalling those machines and offered us a next advanced; more accurate version as a replacement.

Also, they agreed to put user instructions and videos on their website so as to educate users to get accurate results.

When we prepare a solution for users, it should perform in actual the way it is expected to – that’s what a Tester tests and confirms!

Please feel free to share thoughts in the comment section and do subscribe to my channel or try my course on Software Testing for learning more.

Thanks!

Prashant Kumar

 

One thought on “How my Testing skills saved Life!

Leave a comment